Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

Thread: sound problems

sound problems

Hello, I'm new to the DV world and was wondering if someone can help with the problem I'm having. What I'm trying to do is this, record a Rock band from a Sharp VL-Z3U through a fire wire directly to the PC. We tried it with a web cam and the quality of the vid was low but sound was good because it was through the sound board and to the line-in on the PC.
    I tried to record with the camcorder and it's tape 1st but the volume level was to high and the sound was distorted. We then tried going through Windows Media Encoder, by-passing the cameras mic and selecting the line-in again. This worked but the video was not much better then that of the web cam. Next we tried an Ulead program and the video was amazing but we still had the issue of the cameras mic distorting. Is it possible to select the line-in for the sound source and the dv camera for the video somehow with a program as superior as Ulead or Pinacle? Any help will be greatly appreciated as we are totally frustrated.
    Thanx in advance

MJS
    Digital Video Moderator

Re: sound problems