ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Help me understand

I'm pretty new to photography but am very interested in it. I've stated before that I recently bought a sony f828 and I'm glad I did. It's verstile, does all that I want, for now, and it's great to learn on. I am though, sometime in the future going to step it up to a real dslr. One thing about the sony that makes beginning photography easy is it has a flexible built in lens. I've been researching SLR lenses and an getting more and more confused. When I go full DSLR I'm guessing I'm going to need 2 or 3 lenses to cover most situations. I was checking out Ritz online and they are listing the drebel in a starter kit with two lenses:

Sigma 28-80mm Autofocus Lens
    Mount: Canon EF
    Lens Constructions: 7 Groups 7 Elements
    Angle of View (Diagonal): 75.4 degrees -30.3 degrees
    Minimum Aperture: f22
    Minimum Focusing Distance: 19-inches (9.8-inches Macro) / .5m (.25m Macro)
    Magnifications: 1:5.4 (1:2 Macro):
    Filter Size: 55
    Dimensions (Dia x Length) 2.7 x 2.8inches / 69.5 x 71.4mm / (Fully Extended Length 96.5mm / 3.8in)
    Weight: 9oz / 255g

Sigma 70-300mm Autofocus Lens
    Mount: Canon EF
    Lens Constructions: 10 Groups 14 Elements
    Angle of View: 34.3 degrees -8.2 degrees
    Number of blades in diaphragm: 9
    Minimum Aperture: f22-32
    Minimum Focusing Distance: 150cm / 59.1in (Macro 95cm / 37.4in)
    Magnifications: 1:4 ( 1:2 Macro)
    Filter Size: 58mm
    Dimensions (Dia x Length) 74.5 x 119.5mm / 2.9 x 4.7in (Fully Extended Length 208.3mm / 8.2in)
    Weight: 585g / 20.6oz