Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Digital Noise issues in low light - body or lens issue

Hi,
    I am a beginner photographer. I currently own the Olympus e420. In general, I like it, but I am unhappy with the amount of digital noise I get. I don't dare use an ISO higher than 400.

I'm confused as to whether this is an issue with my lens or the camera itself. I know that Olympus uses the 4/3 system and so the sensor is smaller than Canon and Nikon. But neither of my lenses have an aperture bigger than 3.5, either. I suspect they are both to blame.

I'm wondering if I should just switch over to Canon or Nikon and start from scratch or if I should just invest in some nicer Oly lenses. At this point, I haven't invested much in my Olympus. I only have the kit lens and one other used lens that I bought for cheap.

Any advice?

n8

Re: Digital Noise issues in low light - body or lens issue

My take is that the level of noise is going to come from the body. The lens simply focuses the incoming light, while the body, and most importantly the sensor decides what to do with that light just like a roll of film would. So, back in the day noise basically dependent on the film, whereas with today's digitals, it depends on the sensor and essentially the body they're in.
    With that said, if you have a slow lens, then you either need a slower shutter speed or a higher iso, the latter being the culprit for increased noise. A faster lens would help to a degree.
    mostly Nikon gear

Feel free to edit my images for critique, just let me know what you did.

Formerly Michael Fanelli, mwfanelli, mfa mwfanelli2's Avatar