Camera Dealer Feedback Forum

This forum is moderated by, Grandpaw.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question FotoConnection or ExpressCameras?

Does anyone have any experence with those too stores? I am looking to buy the Digital Rebel. Do these look like good sites?

http://www.fotoconnection.com/viewit...=5342&section=

http://www.expresscameras.com/cart/p...d=8845&start=1

Frequent Lurker
    Chris,
    While I have no experience with either of these places, you might check out this links.

http://www.photo.net/neighbor/one-subcategory?id=2
    http://www.bizrate.com/ratings_guide...id--31423.html
    http://www.bizrate.com/ratings_guide...id--66756.html

Not a lot of reviews for some of the links, but virtually none are positive. Basically, if it seems too good to be true, it probably is. A place selling a Digital Rebel for substantially less than anywhere else isn't really planning to give it to you at that price. Typically, you have to "call to confirm the order" with these places and then they try to sell you extra items. When you don't want any of the extras, the DRebel will then be out of stock all of a sudden. The other thing many of these places do is strip the boxes. When they say "body only" that is exactly what they mean. For that price, you don't get a battery, charger, strap, manual, etc. All of these items are extra. You will probably also find most of these places have extremely high shipping and handling costs. I've seen on the order of $60 or more for standard shipping. They also typically have high restocking fees that way when you find you've been had (assuming you actually get the camera from them), it costs you a fortune to send it back. Knowing how hard you are working for your money, I would recommend continuing to save and shopping with a reputable store. You are not likely to save any money from the "cheap" places by the time everything is said and done.

Good luck.
    Terry

Re: FotoConnection or ExpressCameras?