ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Landscape Photography. Where's the good stuff?

Hi, I'm realtively new here and thought I'd combine two threads in one....a "rant and rave, get things off my chest" with a "please look at my work and hello everyone".

I am a photographer and have been for over 15 years. I specialize in black & white photography and more specifically b&w landscapes. My site is at www.TobyDeveson.com where alot of my work can be seen.

So, he thinks to himself, where do I go to make this more than a "hello, please look at my work" sort of a post. Lets see where it goes....hmmm!

I'll keep it relevant to what has become the bulk of my work and passion - Landscape photography. So, is it still seen as the easy option to take, the distant cousin to figurative photography, reportage, portraiture and documentary?

Sure the psychological, mental side to it may be easier. No one other that yourself to deal with. But if it is an easier, poorer option why are there so few decent images out there. Why is there so much mediocre and dare i say it **** work floating around. I cant remember the last time I saw a body of work that took my breath away and left me green with envy. Including Ansel Adams....