Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

New to Studio Photography...looking for New Strobes

I am relatively new to studio photography. I have a cheap Britek strobe, a few reflectors and a nice Sekonic meter. These items have allowed me to take some nice headshots. I was able to learn the basics with some practice. However, I am looking to upgrade to some better equipment in the near future. I would like to get 2 more medium / High quality moonlights. I was hoping that someone could help me out with the following questions:

1. How many Watt/seconds should my new setup use to get full body shots? This would be with individual moonlights and their total power combined.

2. What kind of moonlights would you recommend? I have a budget of around $1200. I have seen several kits available through Adroma and B&H in this price range. I am not looking for the BEST equipment. I just want to take my photography to the next level with something better than a 120 Watt/second Britek.

3. I just purchased an EOS 20D. I am shooting with an assortment of EF and L lenses. Is there anything I should be aware of when looking for studio lighting using the 20D that might not have been a factor when I was shooting Film?

I would appreciate any input you all could give.

Thanks.

Re: New to Studio Photography...looking for New Strobes

I recently purchased 2 800w/s strobes from alienbees with medium softboxes for a total of about $900 and am very happy with them.

Hi..

There is an Elincrom kit for under a $1k that are very good. I have the Style 500 kit which has two stands, 2 umbrellas, 2 500w lights, carrying case, sync cord, and hard shell case for the strobes.