Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

reducing file size ?

i want to send 6 test photo files to ritz camera by means of uploading on line to "my album" on their website. i will be requesting they make a print size of 4x6. i have never done this before and wonder if someone could give me "step by step" instructions [plus any thing else i might want to know] as "how" to do this? these photo files have been manipulated in ps 6.0 [adobeRGB 1998 color space was used] and saved as jpeg 12. i now have changed these 6 test prints to sRGB as this is what ritz uses in developing in their fuji frontier photo system. i have "image sized" these to 4x6 @ 300 pdi with a resulting file size of 6.0 mb. i have a "dial up" connection and they suggested my uploading these as 1024x768 images @ 300dpi.
    question-
    1- [plus the above] give me "step by step' instructions how to reduce the current 6.0mb file size to 1024x768 @ 300dpi as they requested?
    thank you and merry xmas-

tramp

Re: reducing file size ?

That is different.

If you change it it is going to give you an image size of 3.413 inch x 2.56 inch photo. What about putting them on CD and taking them in to get printed.

You could probably get away with a little less resolution (like 240dpi) but it still would be painfully slow on dial-up. A lot of places have self-service kiosks - burning a CD and taking it to the store would probably be quicker...