Digital Video Forum

Digital Video Forum Discuss camcorders, HD video, HD DSLRs, video editing, DV software, and video techniques. Your DV forum moderator is Skyman.
Read and Write Camcorder Reviews >>

Recommendation please

Could anyone please recommend a digital video camera?
    I am by no means a professional in this sense, but I would like a decent one.
    What I am looking for is at least 20x optical zoom and high hundreds in digital zoom.
    I would like to be able to record in the low lighting or even at night.
    Taking pictures with it is not that important, but I would like that option as well, possibly on a flash drive?
    What I am really concerned about is transferring the video to a computer. It doesn't need to be a simple as a mini DVD, but I don't want the audio and video to be off. I have had issues with that in the past.
    I was looking at the Sony DCR-HC21 Mini DV Camcorder. Any thought about that or something different?

Re: Recommendation please

why do you need such a large zoom ? anything over about 10x gets very hard to hold steady, and with the digital zoom the picture degrades markedly so that anything over 40 is basically unwatchable. there are several brands with 20x optical zooms with optical images stabilisers, this is going to give you the best results. i would be looking at panasonic and jvc, canon have stabilised cameras as well, but the models with optical image stabilisation are only up to 14x zoom. having a stabilised lens will also help you in night and low light shooting. basically thought for the low light stuff, test the camera.

st_

any 3ccd camcorder would be great for you in terms of highest quality. Panasonic have some nice ones. www.panasonic.com - NV-GS400, NV-GS250, NV-GS150, NV-GS75, or www.sony.com Sony DCR-HC1000

DCR-HC21 - yeah it looks all right for home videos nice low price as well, it all comes down to how much money your willing to spend...