Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Lense recommendation

I've recently stepped up to a DLSR (canon rebel w/18-55mm lense).

Previous cameras were all point and shoot - last one was a olympus c730.

Anyhow, I like to do outdoor night photography mostly. I'm a causal photographer...
    something I do maybe a few times a month tops.

I need a recommendation for a decent telephoto lense - something like 70-200mm
    range and under say $300. I don't do enough shooting at this point to drop another
    grand on a lense - if I find I get in to it more, I've got no problem spending the money
    however.

I'm thinking about a lense thats a f2.8 with the above specs.. mostly because I think
    it'll help my night shooting more so then the usual 3.8-5.6 telephotos.

Any suggestions as to brand or specs would be greatly appreciated.

Here's a link to a recent shot with my c730 of the santa monica sky line (show from malibu) to give you an idea of the shooting I like to do:

http://edamon.com/740/skyline2.jpg

-d

nature/wildlife co-moderator paulnj's Avatar
    "something like 70-200mm range and under say $300"

"I'm thinking about a lense thats a f2.8 with the above specs.. mostly because I think
    it'll help my night shooting more so then the usual 3.8-5.6 telephotos. "

the skyline shot had DOF well beyond the f5.6 @200mm range firstly

your budget of $300 will have you searching long and hard for a used 3rd party lens in that range with f2.8 constant

my suggestion in that range is a canon 70-200f4L( but nearly twice your budget)
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...=183198&is=USA

a sigma 70-200 f2.8 is just over $700
    a canon is $1100
    a tokina is $539 after rebate(my second suggestion)