Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

New Digi Camera - Minolta A200 or Olympus C8080?

Hi Guys.

I have been doing some research on buying a new digital camera. I am an avid photographer and am always looking to upgrade my equipment. I did dabble in 35mm, but now that my trusty old Minolta XG-7 broke; I am looking for a nice replacement for it and my current digital camera.

I currently own a Olympus C-750UZ 4MP which is less than a year old. Although, I would like to have features leaning more towards a Digital SLR. I am not ready quite yet to make the move to DSLR, mainly because of the cost at this point in time.But I know I want a 8MP camera or higher.

I have read reviews on all the major offerings. I try not to base my whole decision on reviews, because they tend to be biased towards certain brands and they often use ridiculous testing procedures. But I was able to take certain similar points from different reviews on a particular camera and then factor in my personal feelings about each camera.

I 'nixed Sony and Nikon's offerings right off the bat.....

I looked at the Konica Minolta A2, but it was apparent to me that it had plaguing problems with image sharpness. I then found it's little brother the A200 which has a 270 degree rotating LCD (big PLUS), the same lens as the A2, and no known "problems". The A200 is my top choice at the moment.

I also have looked at the C8080WZ from Olympus..... Again, I am not loyal to any brand and I know that no camera is perfect.

I have a strict budget of $800. I can get the A200 for $680 on NewEgg and a 1GB 4X Flash Card for about $75.