ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Photography on steroids

This is not a challenge, this is an absolutely sincere question that I'd really love to hear your responses to.

First of all, a little background. I first got into photography 22 years ago, then over the years got away from it until just recently. So I'm something of a "novice" as to the state of Photography today. I am not, however, a novice when it comes to computer graphics. I've been using Photoshop for ten years now, in an educational, professional, and personal setting.

I'm having a hard time, emotionally, accepting that it's OK to do extensive Photoshop editing and still call it "Photography." I don't know if I come from some really old-school thinking where I somehow think a shot should be great straight off the roll ... and such a thing is SO rare that anyone who can do such a thing somewhat consistently is automatically "great."

I know I could do a lot more with my work if I took more of into PS, so please give me your arguments on why this is a good and OK thing to do.

I come from a prepress background, so to me "Photoshop work" = "Manipulating for Advertising". I also see the value of it when creating Fine Art, where photography is the starting point, but I consider that the end result is no longer "photography", it's more in a "mixed media" category (photography + computer software).

I'm more than willing and open (and eager!) to have my heart changed on this, so give me your best arguments!

~Kelly

I'm OK with darkroom work, just not (extensive) computer work. I don't know why. Hmmmm...

Sitting in a Leaky Dingy Michael Fanelli's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by kellybean