ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Need Flash Advice!!!!

I'm a beginner to the world of SLR camera's etc...however I'm very serious about learning. I've got a Rebel Ti and in the future I'd like to get into some small time portrait shooting (maining out doors so studio lighting probably won't be a factor)...probably senior pictures type stuff. I've been looking into getting a nice cannon flash. What are the basics of picking out a good flash? More specifically, what are the differences between the cannon 420 and 550 (those numbers may not be correct but I'm sure you know which two i'm talking about) other than the 550 costing twice as much? Is it really worth twice the money as the 420? Keep in mind I'm not going to be shooting from huge distances (but I'd still like some flexability). Any and all advice would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks a million,
    Justin

Go to the library or bookstore and look for the lighting cookbook in the photography section. It explains a lot of great things about lighting. Personally, I like the lighting used in the old days with portraiture - gads, I can't think of the photographers name - he used to shoot famous stars like Jean Harlowe and Marlene Deitreich without makeup and used lighting to create magniscent photographs. He hand painted them. Oh, jeez, my brain's not working tonight!
    http://janehaas.com

"Art is part of a rebellion against the realities of unfulfilled desire." ~Emma Goldman
    Member: