ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Edgier Senior Portraits

I've shot for a high school football team going on my 6th year. I'm constantly getting requests to do Senior portraits from the parents of the players.

First I balked because I'm not the type of person who likes the normy obligatory portrait shots plus I didn't look at myself as a portrait photographer. I've been working at it for a couple years now. I'm adding the obligatory poses, but love catching the essence and personality of the boys I'm shooting. The boys always have great ideas about the things they love and are more then willing to incorporate them and pose.

Here are two faves from my last Senior Portrait shoot. Surprisingly, his Mom is getting both these shots enlarged. The shop that did his tattoo is framing this photo and hanging it in their shop.

Last edited by JETA; 05-06-2010 at 08:59 AM. Reason: typo
    It's not blurry. It's bokeh.

Canon EOS 1D Mark IV
    Canon EOS 5D Mark II
    Canon EOS 1D Mark III
    Canon 24-70mm EF f/2.8L
    Canon 24-105mm EF f/4L IS
    Canon Zoom Telephoto EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS
    Canon 17-40mm EF f/4L
    Canon 15mm F/2.8 EF Fisheye Lens
    Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro
    Canon 50mm f/1.8
    Canon 600EX-RT Speedlite
    Canon 580EX Speedlite
    Canon EOS Rebel 300D

Liz

Re: Edgier Senior Portraits

These are excellent! Your composition is excellent. These guys must love you - you capture perfectly their personalities and character. Nice work.

Just an off-topic question......not to take away from the beautiful portraits!