Edgier Senior Portraits

Printable View

• 05-06-2010, 08:56 AM
    JETA
    Edgier Senior Portraits
    I've shot for a high school football team going on my 6th year. I'm constantly getting requests to do Senior portraits from the parents of the players.

First I balked because I'm not the type of person who likes the normy obligatory portrait shots plus I didn't look at myself as a portrait photographer. I've been working at it for a couple years now. I'm adding the obligatory poses, but love catching the essence and personality of the boys I'm shooting. The boys always have great ideas about the things they love and are more then willing to incorporate them and pose.

Here are two faves from my last Senior Portrait shoot. Surprisingly, his Mom is getting both these shots enlarged. The shop that did his tattoo is framing this photo and hanging it in their shop.
    http://juliesaltvick.smugmug.com/pho...48_bgmir-L.jpg
    http://juliesaltvick.smugmug.com/pho...08_o8Dex-L.jpg
  • 05-06-2010, 09:03 AM
    Liz
    Re: Edgier Senior Portraits
    These are excellent! Your composition is excellent. These guys must love you - you capture perfectly their personalities and character. Nice work.

Just an off-topic question......not to take away from the beautiful portraits!

I noticed a humble Rebel 300D amongst your list of equipment. Do you still use this? I'm asking because I used to have this camera and was always awed at the wonderful results, the IQ and color that came out of this camera with little work. Actually, when I upgraded I sold it to Adina's mom. With my other (upgraded) Rebels, I always had to work a bit harder.

Liz
  • 05-06-2010, 09:11 AM
    JETA
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Liz
    These are excellent! Your composition is excellent. These guys must love you - you capture perfectly their personalities and character. Nice work.

Just an off-topic question......not to take away from the beautiful portraits!