ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Thread: Business...

We just can't have nice things... darkrainfall's Avatar

Business...

So, I've been working taking portraits and shooting weddings and doing real estate work, and it has allowed me to be the full time photographer I want to be, however I'm not happy. What I want to do is get back into photojournalism (just as a freelancer, I don't want the newspaper to own me) and to get into advertising photography. I love photographing weddings, portraits are alright (people are too used to the sears/jcpenny way of portraits, where you are in and out in 15 min), and I hate the real estate shots (they're boring). I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to how I should approach getting myself into advertising and magazine photography?

Although others like Asylum Steve, etc. will give you more solid advice than I could, I would just suggest, as a start, get as strong a portfolio together as humanly possible. Guys...now that he's got a killer portfolio, what's next?

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

No quick or easy answers...

Tiffany,

The career advice you're asking for is well beyond the scope of a short reply in this forum.

Not only that, but the two areas you want to pursue, photojournalism and advertising photography, are arguably at opposite ends of the spectrum with (usually) competely different paths to success.

Still, I guess it's not too hard to throw out some general guidelines to try to help you come up with a plan...