ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

The absolute noobie!

I am a absolute beginner w/ a new toy! I actually found this site through mtbr.com. I just recently purchased a cannon A75. I have been messing around w/ it trying to get some cool shots and was just wondering if anyone else uses a P&S camera like the A75 or if everyone here is using alot better equipment. I know i am going to have alot of limitations in DOF .. that is the main thing i have read.

Can any one explain some of the diffrences btw P&S and the more advance cameras that people seem to be using.

What are some common things that a P&S camera can do that i could mess around w/ for diffrent effects.

Sho

*Feel free to post shots w/ your P&S cameras

Though you'll get some good replies here, you might want to check out the Digital forums here on this site for some specific feedback. Probably the biggest difference you'll find between the consumer p&s and advanced digicams is the amount of control the photog has over the camera's settings. Good luck.

Welcome to pr

Quote Originally Posted by WeekendShogunPhotog
    I have been messing around w/ it trying to get some cool shots and was just wondering if anyone else uses a P&S camera like the A75 or if everyone here is using alot better equipment.
    I have an older generation of that camera, the A40. Lots of people who post on this site use dslrs, but many use p&s cameras too.

Can any one explain some of the diffrences btw P&S and the more advance cameras that people seem to be using.
    Sure, the biggest difference for me is the size -- I like the convenience of a small p&s camera.