ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

absolute BEGINNING photographer needs help

I'm about as "beginner" as it gets... 17 years old, hardly even touched a camera that wasn't disposable... I'm a total novice. I've become interested in photography and am taking a class in it next year at my school. What I'd like is any advice you could give a beginner, especially about what my first camera should be. I don't have a lot to spend, so if I could get something decent for under $100, I'd definitely go for that, but as I am a complete novice I don't even know what "decent" is. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

It's hurricane season... again...
    Well for starters, look for a fully manual 35mm slr. That means that you can change the settings of the camera. I have an old Minolta XG-M that would be great for a beginner (it was my first camera) and they usually sell on Ebay for around $100.

Here is an example I found:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...813764321&rd=1

Do be careful when buying on Ebay though! Only buy from a reputable seller (check their rating) and make sure that the condition of the camera is as excellent as possible, or you could end up with more problems than pictures.

I'm sure that there are other good beginner cameras, but don't think that you have to buy new, or the latest and greatest, to get good photos. The quality of photos is up to the photographer, not the camera!

Good luck, and I hope this was helpful.
    Kristin
    Canon Bird Nerd #2

A loooong way from 1000! Cowgirl's Avatar
    Hey, we've all been there!