Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Using Strobes Outdoors, how much power do i need?

Hey sorry if this is a basic question, I have been shooting for about 6 months now after seeing some really cool exterior strobe shots (you know, when the background is dark and sky is dark blue but the talent is lit and almost plastic looking).

Anyways, as i said im about to but a strobe monolight as i dont wanna deal with packs yet. Im a cinematographer so I understand light, but am not to sure if a 400watt strobe is the equivelent of 400w of continuous lighting, if so I know thats not gonna do much.

Thanks in advance for your help!

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

Re: Using Strobes Outdoors, how much power do i need?

Welcome to the site. Comparing the wattage of hot and flash lights is like apricots and oranges. In fact, comparing wattage even between different brands and types of storbes can be a flawed proposition, as manufacturers often throw different kinds of numbers out at the consumer in an attempt to inflate their product's specs.

Generally speaking, a flash with the same wattage number as a hot light will have a higher output as the hot light by nature is continuous light while the flash is peak light.

A much better way to compare light output among different flash units is GUIDE NUMBER. A flash GN is a standard attained (normally) using ISO 100. Divide the subject distance into the GN and you have your f/stop.

For example, a flash with a GN of 220 should produce an f/stop of f/22 at ISO 100 with the subject at 10 feet. Naturally, this is just a general guideline, as many other factors affect exposure in the real world, but for the sake of comparing flash output, it is a very useful tool.