Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.
    Nuit Sombre

Question about strobe lights

I've actually got a lot of questions regarding strobe lights. I'd really like to be a fashion photographer... but I have no official photography schooling (I'm actually studying to be an Animation major). So I was wondering... when do you start having to substitute reflectors for strobe lights ? Also, would I be able to use strobe lights with a Digital Rebel or would it be fried to death? Another question is... which is the best brand of professional strobe lights out there?

Here are a couple of images of mine that I've taken with the use of reflectors.
    Attached Images Attached Images     

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

Re: Question about strobe lights

Hi Anu1s. Nice to see you posting again...

The subject and questions you list are things we could talk all day about. It's a facet of shooting that you can literally make as simple or as complicated as you want.

Unfortunately, right now I'm in the middle of doing my taxes (and as you can see, looking for ways to stall and put it off as long as possible), so I can't get into much detail, but I promise to give you a much longer reply soon.

My current fashion shooting style (besides studio) is using strobes during daylight on location. I've got a shoot coming up in Miami next week that I'm very excited about becasue I'm going to try some very edgy techniques and ideas. With, BTW, a gorgeous model (which always helps, eh?) ;)

If you keep an eye on this forum, I'll be posting some examples soon from the shoot, explaining what I did and how I did it. I think you may be able to figure out a lot of things for your own situation from that.