Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Home made lighting

Last year i completed a photography diploma, and majored in food photography. I have been trying to photograph more shots for my folio using window light, which can give good results but not consistent and flexable results. The light can't be manipulted how i want it like studio lighting. At the moment expensive equipment isn't an option.
    So i want to make a homemade softbox using a tungsten light and other materials. What are some ways of doing this? And what materials would give results as close as possible to a softbox, without being a fire hazard?!.

Thanks in advance,

Sarah.

Re: Home made lighting

Hey, I took a cinematography course at USC in which my professor created just what you are asking. I recreated the same exact thing and it works like a charm! It will cost you about 20 bucks to make.

First, get a cardboard box with a lid that's about 2 feet high by 1.5 feet wide and tall. Cut square hole in the lid that is almost all the way to all the edges, so basically you have a cardboard frame. Get some diffusion gel from a local film or photography shop or online (I use opal). Optionally, you can get some color temperature correcting gels if you want to get your tungsten to match daylight (CTB). But remember that the CTB will cut your light down a full stop or more!

Ok, now cut the gel(s) to a slightly larger size than the hole in the box lid. Then use a strong tape (like gaffers tape) to affix the gel(s) to the lid. (I wouldn't recommend supergluing the gels, as they may have to be swapped out when they get old.)