Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Studio Lighting Classes in Chicago? or advice?

I'm a graphic designer with previous b/w photo experience and would like to learn more about studio lighting so I can take nice pics of packaging I have designed for my portfolio, in addition to offering some basic photo service to my clients.

I am interested in finding a short seminar to teach me the basics (somewhere around Chicago)- any recommendations? Or a good book to read regarding studio lighting.

I currently have a Nikon N60 SLR and a Nikon Coolpix 995 digital camera. I'm looking into purchasing a Digital SLR camera, but would like to educate myself a bit more on the lighting issues prior to investing.

I'd also love some recommendations on studio lighting equipment. I have some tungsten blue bulbs I use on those clip lamps but get really harsh highlights if I'm pointing the lamps right at the subject (obviously). Again, I have no formal education in Lighting, just b/w photography (that was taken with natural Light). I'm just looking to use a simple white background and having the subject well lit with a soft shadow off to one side. How can I make this happen?

Sorry this is such a broad post, but I'd love any advice anyone can offer.

I was just looking at some other post suggesting a light tent and I looked at this one:
    http://www.adorama.com/PALBT24.html?...tent&item_no=8
    I like the idea of being able to change out my backgrounds, and the fact that this doesn't take up too much space... So, if I use a light tent, what types of lights are recommended and where do I place/point the lights?
    Last edited by jmckenna37; 10-20-2004 at 08:18 AM.

Re: Studio Lighting Classes in Chicago? or advice?

Hi