Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>
    Seb

Choice of lense for car racing...

Howdy guys!

In two weeks from now a relative of mine will be racing his car on a track and I'd like to shoot few frames for him. Now, I have strictly no experience with sports photography, I am an absolute newbie in this area.

I might have the opportunity to be reasonably close from the track but I am concerned about the choice of lense. Would a 28mm/80mm f/2.8 lense (used at 80mm) give decent results or should I rent something like a fast 80mm-200mm or a 200mm prime?

I don't own a monopod so I'd like to be able to shoot hand held. For the records, I'll be using a Nikon D70.

regards

Seb

Re: Choice of lense for car racing...

You didn't mention if it will be night or day time. I shoot racing all the time, day, night, tiny tracks to Indy. I use the same lens, a 70-200 f2.8. The shot (top one) here Article: Learn How to Take Action Shots is taken at night while panning. It is not cropped and the setting are shown below it. No flash was used for this either.
    The shot here was taken yesterday at Indy. Both with the same camera and lens with settings at f22 shutter 1/160 ISO 800.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Seb

Quote Originally Posted by JSPhoto
    You didn't mention if it will be night or day time. I shoot racing all the time, day, night, tiny tracks to Indy. I use the same lens, a 70-200 f2.8. The shot (top one) here Article: Learn How to Take Action Shots is taken at night while panning. It is not cropped and the setting are shown below it. No flash was used for this either.
    The shot here was taken yesterday at Indy. Both with the same camera and lens with settings at f22 shutter 1/160 ISO 800.
    Hello JS,