Digital Imaging and Computers Forum

Digital Imaging and Computers Forum This forum is for discussing digital photo processing, including RAW image conversion, Photoshop techniques, digital photography workflow, digital image management, and anything else related to digital image processing.
Digital Photography Software Guide >>
Read and Write Photography Software Reviews >>
Read and Write Photo Printer Reviews >>
Computer Reviews >>

Thread: Photoshop 5.0LE

Question Photoshop 5.0LE

Are there any book or good web pages for learning to use Photoshop 5.0LE? My brother gave me a copy, that came with a scanner he bought, he didn't need it. I have never used any photo editing software before. I have 35mm print film scanned at 3000x2000 by my pro-shop. Would it be better to purchase elements and just forget about 5.0LE?

Mark

mjm
    that guy.
    5 is pretty old, they are up to 8 now. you won't have much luck finding specific "how to" guides for that version. however, a lot of stuff is backwards compadible[sp?], so maybe you can find some 6.0 guides and work from those?

I used to have 5.0LE, it came with a scanner I bought as well. It's not bad but pretty out dated. At the time I was new with it so it didn't matter much. "LE" is limited edition, meaning it doesn't have some of the things that the full version of Photoshop 5 had. You could probably find a Photoshop 5 book on ebay for next to nothing, and just realize that it will cover things that are not possible with LE.

Another option is Photoshop Elements (I think it's version 2.0). For under $100 you've got a huge improvement. I have Photoshop 7.0 and a book called "Photoshop for digital photographers" by Scott Kelby. That book should apply pretty closely to Elements and I highly recommend it. In fact of all of the photo books I have, it's the best one I ever bought (OK, except for the autographed Galen Rowell books...).

mjm
    that guy.
    Quote Originally Posted by another view