Photo Critique Forum

Please post no more than five images a day and respond to as many images as you post. Critics, please be constructive, specific, and nice! Moderated by gahspidy and mtbbrian.
Featured Photo
Photo by hminx

Photo by hminx
Featured Photo Archive >>
By posting on the Photo Critique forum you agree to post only your own photos, be respectful, and give back as much as you receive. This is a moderated forum and anything abusive or off-topic will be removed.

Newbie needing help

I am just a beginner and any help you can give would be appreciated. The first picture is before cropping. Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Newbie needing help-p2160012.jpg   Newbie needing help-zachary-bubbles.jpg  

Send $$$ For Film and Processing h2oskierc's Avatar

The Cropped One is Great

The cropped picture looks great. My advice would be to frame it like that right off. If that isn't an option, I prefer that the subject looks into the 2/3 portion of the picture when using the rule of thirds. Or, put another way, that the subject looks into the picture, not out of it.

I am no professional, very far from it in fact, so take it for what it is. I will say the the crop looks great, and that you seem to have snapped the shutter at the perfect moment. With children that is usually the hardest part.
    Chris

When I grow up I want to be a Photographer.

No more money left for film
    Will work for Canon DSLR Body...

The crop is wonderful.

Photography is as much choosing what to exclude as it is choosing what to include. The first shot has many elements that do nothing but distract. The toys on the left, the blown-out foreground, the faucet and hardware, all take away from the subject. The cropped shot clearly shows a child in a bathtub, the bubbles and expression tell the story. Just enough elements to get the point across, composed in a way that keeps the eye moving.