Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Unhappy Need help with my Canon Digital Rebel EOS 300D

Okay, I am a newbie, and here's the situation:

I am good at taking outdoor photos, especially using the Sports/Action setting. The photos all come out really great, I love them. They look really professional.

Then there are indoor settings. Well, I'm a high school student, and most of the photos I take indoors are in very bright, white lighting, so they come out pretty well.

What I'm really bad at is when there's a situation where I have to take photos indoors and there's very dim lighting and I hate using flash because it illuminates things on people's faces they don't want seen.

This is compounded when I'm using a big lens (70-300 mm) and I can't hold it properly because I don't like dragging a tripod around and I shake when I hold it 'cause it seems a little heavy or I'm weak, one of those.

This is further compounded when the photos I'm taking are of moving people.

Okay, the real problem was that yesterday I went to the spring concert for my high school and it was inside a dark theater and the lighting they used on the stage was very dim and all the people on stage were moving and dancing. When I looked at the photos today, most of them were soooo blurry, even though I used the Sports/Action setting so there was no flash and to capture motion. Using Adobe's Unsharp Mask filter helped a few photos, but I'm really tired of doing that, so I want to improve my photo-taking ability.

I can't handle manual. There is no way I can get a Nikon D70, and the problem is probably with me anyway. Is there anything I can do? Please help a person who is completely photography illiterate!