Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Unhappy D70 = disappointed : (

Hello to all!
    I'm a digital SLR newbie who just bought a D70 after saving up for it over the last year : )

The problem is that now that i have bought this camera, Im quite disappointed with the pictures as they appear on the monitor screen. Compared with my Olympus 750 UZ ( a digital point and shoot), the pictures are dull and lifeless. I read on the forums that this camera tends to underexpose so i shoot with +0.3 on...but the pics still dont have the same effect

I tried the direct print setting and that doesnt help. Finally i fiddled around with it on Photoshop 7 and printed it as a 6X8 and at last i got some REALLY good pics...
    BUT my problem is this
    1. I cant sit around post processing everything...for me its kinda hit or miss..some i just couldnt do much with
    2. My pics dont look sharp on the screen even when i turn up the on board sharpness control
    3. If i use the PS Unsharp mask filter...it looks very artificial ( i do it twice at 40%), at least on my screen - do u think my screen is the problem? Its a normal 17" Samsung SyncMaster 753s?

So can anyone please help me with the above two Qs, so that even my dad can put this on auto and get better pics than his Casio gives him?

Sitting in a Leaky Dingy Michael Fanelli's Avatar

Re: D70 = disappointed : (

Quote Originally Posted by The Ever Optimist
    BUT my problem is this
    1. I cant sit around post processing everything...for me its kinda hit or miss..some i just couldnt do much with
    2. My pics dont look sharp on the screen even when i turn up the on board sharpness control