Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Fuji FinePix S700 vs Nikon D70?

I’m in the market for a high quality digital camera and I’ve narrowed my search to two very different cameras the Fuji FinePix S7000 and the Nikon D70.

I am an amateur (maybe someday semiprofessional, i.e. I hope to sell some of the images I produce) nature photographer, my primary interest is wildflower photography, but I also shoot the occasional landscape, or whatever interesting object or scene comes up. Basically, when it comes to what I want out of a camera, I want high quality, sharp, colorful, high magnification, macro images. If I can get a flower the size of a nickel to fill the frame I’m in heaven. For the most part, everything else is gravy.

I currently own a Nikon N65 with a couple lenses (including the G series 60 mm macro). About a year ago I bought a small 2 megapixel Sony DCS-20 as a travel camera. It has impressed me so much with it’s ease of image capturing and low cost per image, that the N65 has seen less and less use.

It seems like the D70 would be an awesome upgrade from my N65. But the price is a bit prohibitive, though not totally out of the question, seeing as I’m a broke grad student at the moment. This is especially true because if I sell all my SLR equipment I might just make the $700 cost of the Fuji, where as I only have a $250 body to sell if I buy the D70 (and maybe that telephoto lens and teleconverter I just don’t use often enough).