Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

complete newbie needs info

first up, g'day all from australia.

i recieved my first digital camera recently,and it came with a 16 mb sd card.its a "Canon Powershot A400"i dont know anything about memory cards but i am wondering [after looking on Ebay] what the differance in brands might be? there is "SAN DISK 1GB Secure Digital Memory Card ,New Lexar Compact Flash 1GB CF Memory Card " actually at the time i am writing this, there are over 850 different items listed under memory cards on Ebay - granted a fair few are repeated but the choice is unbelievable.does the brand or mb [over 16mb] really matter that much? could someone give me a laymans breakdown of what would be good to use and what to steer clear of ? and what my little camera can use and what it cant.
    you can also reach me via email if you wish.

lonerider96@hotmail.com

thanks for any help,

muchly appreciate it ladies and gents.

Re: complete newbie needs info

Whole new world, isn't it!

Memory cards for digital cameras come in different formats or sizes - SD (Secure Digital) and CF (Compact Flash) being the most popular I'd say. There are actually two types of CF cards but it really isn't an issue anymore and I'll spare you the boring details. CF cards won't work if you need SD cards (won't fit), so you can rule all of those out right away. CF cards used to be most common and are still the standard for DSLR's but SD cards are smaller and I guess they fit into smaller cameras better.