Help Files Camera and Photography Forum

For general camera equipment and photography technique questions. Moderated by another view. Also see the Learn section, Camera Reviews, Photography Lessons, and Glossary of Photo Terms.

Question Beginner need help

Hello there. I'm new to photography. Since I intended to learn photography I purchased an used Canon AE-1 with a bunch of lenses and filters.

During my long trip to Brasil, I took over 500 photos. To my surprise, after I've got the pictures back from the lab, I noticed an strange vignetting problem in many pictures. Since I din't make a log about lens, shutter and aperture used, I cannot tell the spechs of there pictures.

Take a look at an example:

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/erich_...65.jpg&.src=ph

What causes that problem? I would guess at it may be the use of a 2x teleconverter with the 75-150mm tele, but I'm not sure. Or maybe it's one of the lenses that are faulty...but vignetting din't show up on many other puictures...

Does anyone have a solution? What's the problem?

Thanks.

Erich

Re: Beginner need help

Not sure what I'm looking at - vignetting is a darkening of the corners of the image and if that was the case it would probably have been caused by filters and/or a lens hood that didn't fit properly.

Can you clarify the problem? I looked at the example and saw the black circle but again, not sure...

Well, it's not really vignetting. If you look at the blue sky and keep looking as you approach the buidings, you'll notice a suble shift in color, from dark blue to light blue. It always happens around the object, as some sort of glowing or contour. It's like applying an "outer glow" effect in photoshop to that portion of the image...

Can you see it now?