Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

White Balance - an Honest Answer

I am just starting to learn to use my new Nikon D70. I have been reading about white balance, and I have a question. Now be honest, how many of you adjust the white balance before you shoot? I realize it would be necessary if shooting under florescent lights, mercury vapor lights, etc. But my question is how many of you change the white balance from the bright sunlight setting to the cloudy setting? Is it really necessary? Has anyone had any experience with this?

Budding Beginner
    I've had my Canon dRebel now for about a week, and I've already shot well over 4 or 5 hundred shots, and from what little experience I've been able to add up, it pays for me to adjust my white balance according to the lighting, particularly indoors in lowlight rooms. For example, in the apartment here, it's a MUST for me to customize my white balance. The light from the incandescent (spelling?) lamps gives everything a yellowish/orangish tint in every shot.

I have, however, found that outside under normal lighting conditions (daytime), I can usually just let the camera automatically choose the white balance. It does a pretty good job normally, but again not always.

Keep in mind...I'm a complete newb. How long have you had the D70? And were you completely new to photography beforehand? Anyway, wanna share some of your early pics with it? I wanted a D70, actually...but I just felt for my own personal needs...the 300 or 400 bucks extra (over the Digital Rebel) just wasn't really all that neccassary (again, for what I'm doing currently).