Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Question which format to use when getting d70 pics printed

hey,
    im still new to the d70, and went to the one hour photo lab today to get some pictures printed. When i got them back i noticed that several of them had lines that were jagged and looked different than on the computer. These were shot as raw and then set to 800x600 pixels in nikon editor and saved as a jpeg. My first question is did the setting it to 800x600 jpeg cause the distortion. Second what format is best for getting prints made. Also im trying to get the best understanding of how to make the best possible prints from my d70 pics, so please feel me in on any tips, tricks, and just basic understanding of how to properly get prints made from the digital images from the d70.

-thank you ahead of time for the help-
    -shawn

Re: which format to use when getting d70 pics printed

I'm just curious why you saved the pics so small...If you want to get the best quality prints, you need to have the highest quality file (3008x2000 pixels for the D70). At the very least, save from RAW to the highest quality JPEG and use that for the prints. 800x600 is less than 1/2mp, so by using that size to get prints, you are essentially wasting that other 5.5 mp (a little bit oversimplified, but you get the idea...). Of course, you also want to consider the size ratio of your pics...if you are printing to 8x10, you'll have to crop the picture to a similar proportion...4x6 and 5x7 shouldn't really need cropping, since they pretty much match the D70's 3x2 pixel ratio.

I don't know how to put this, but...I'm kind of a big deal...People know me.

My Dumb Web Page