Digital SLR Cameras Forum

Digital SLRs Forum Discuss digital SLRs, lenses, RAW conversion, or anything else related to digital SLRs. You may also want to see the Nikon, Canon, and Sony camera forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital SLR Reviews >>
Digital SLR Buyer's Guide >>

Thread: What DSLR?

Question What DSLR?

I took a couple of 35 mm black and white photography college courses. Now I want to buy a digital slr camera. Being a college student I don't have much cash. I was thinking about getting the lower end Canon eos 300d or saving a while longer for the Nikon d50. I want to shoot everything, including sports. What are you thoughts?

Brad

Let me rephrase that..

Quote Originally Posted by wragen22
    I took a couple of 35 mm black and white photography college courses. Now I want to buy a digital slr camera. Being a college student I don't have much cash. I was thinking about getting the lower end Canon eos 300d or saving a while longer for the Nikon d50. I want to shoot everything, including sports. What are you thoughts?

Brad
    Hold on let's place each potential 6MPix DSLR buy in it's right context:

Canon 300D was released in August 2003 and has just been replaced by the D350 after selling a million. It's a bargain while stocks last. Only real drawback is it's speed to start up and do things - it was the last of the "slow" generation of DSLR's. Perhaps not the ideal camera for sports?

Nikon D70 was released in February 2004 and has just been replaced by the D70S after selling a million. It's also a bargain while stocks last. No real drawbacks - perhaps better for sports?

Nikon D50 is an economy version of the D70. Nobody's actually seen one yet. While it should start out at about the same price as the sold-off D70, there will be a kit with two lenses including a new 55-200 which would be useful for sports and might save you a few bucks.