Digital Cameras Forum

Digital Cameras Forum Discuss compact digital cameras or ask general digital photography questions - what camera to buy, memory cards, digital camera accessories, etc. You may also want to look at the Digital SLR forum, or the Camera Manufacturer forums.
Digital Camera Pro Reviews >>
Read and Write Digital Camera Reviews >>
Digital Camera Buyers Guide >>

Question Nikon D70 Good Enough for Professional Use?

I am a wedding / portrait photographer who’s finally ready to dip my toe into the digital whirlpool. I’m a little nervous about the whole venture, as any diehard film photographer is, but feel that we need to dive into the next generation. Short and sweet, we presently use a Nikon F4S for our wedding photojournalism, which is where I thought we’d first integrate the digital format and then move on from there to other areas of our services.

With this being said, does anyone have any thoughts about using the Nikon D70 for this type of professional work? I kind of want something that isn’t going to break the bank to start out with, but also don’t want something that isn’t going to do the job. Can the D70 do the job I require or should I aim a little higher up the Nikon digital family tree? Your thoughts are very much appreciated.

Absolutely, it'd be perfect for you.

Two features stand out that apply to exactly what you're doing:

1) i-TTL flash. It's Nikon's new flash system that suposedly brings exposure consistency even closer to their film cameras. You will need either the SB-600 or SB-800 to take advantage of it.

2) 1/500 sync speed for the flash. Nion incorporated the electronic shutter into this version of the D100 sensor. (Basically, they had it OFF when in the D100.) I think you already realize the benefits of fast sync speed, be in in the studio or outside for fill-flash.