ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Taking pictures of people...

I am a novice photographer using a point and shoot (Nikon 885 or 8400) and would like to take pictures of people while I am out looking for good pictures. However, am reluctant to do that since some people may object. Should I just go ahead and snap pictures of anyone I would like to, or are there any "rules of the game", e.g., ask first? If so what's a good way of doing that.

Thanks...

Re: Taking pictures of people...

Generally, it's a comfort level thing assuming the photos are for your own non-commercial use. I assume you're talking about street photography, such as the style of Henri Cartier Bresson and many others. If someone obviously doesn't want their picture taken, then I wouldn't do it - for example someone gives you a nasty look or turns away when you lift the camera. Those are obvious signs... If you're on private property and are told not to use a camera, then I wouldn't here either. There are people who would, but like I said it's a comfort level.

If you want to sell these pictures then there may be some legal issues involved depending on the specific situation.

If they flip ya the bird, its probably a good idea not to do it. Unless of course, you want those kinds of pictures.
    Jared

"My great concern is not whether you have failed, but whether you are content with your failure." - Abraham Lincoln

That's pretty much what I thought...

Thank you for your help