ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>
    Not-so-recent Nikon Convert livin4lax09's Avatar

quick graduation opinion needed...

I'm shooting graduation this year and I have my lights set up. When I went to rehearsal today I shot a couple test shots and here's one of the shots I got. Opinions as far as the quality of light goes? I'm thinking of using my 1.4x but I really want to get these images as sharp as possible, because it's my first year doing it and I need to nail it if I want to get more business next year. The full body crop may be what parents like too...but as I said, I'd appreciate opinions. Keep in mind the graduates will actually be turned more towards the light when receiving their diploma instead of facing the camera as I am here.

thanks everyone

oh yes, I should mention at the moment I have two b800s on 15' lightstands about 25-30' apart bouncing off the white ceiling in the bench area. It's a hockey rink.

MJS
    Digital Video Moderator

Re: quick graduation opinion needed...

Why not dressed in a suit, just off to the side of the stage. The parents will know you are shooting for them. Use a short zoom and one of your portable strobes either on camera, or on some kind of strobe bracket. Your bees will be too little and too obnoxious. Sometimes keeping it simple is the best way to go. Make sure you have an extra set of batteries or something like a quantum battery for the strobe.

Good luck with it.
    Michael
    Nikon Samurai #8
    Avid Editor
    Sony Shogun