ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Question QUESTION/Request for Advice

Hi, I'm an artist who's been lurking on this site for a few years, but this is my first post. Not a photographer, but use photography in my artwork (what does THAT mean, you say...) It means that I am not really a very good photographer, but take images that I collage into my works on paper, artists books and installations and so on. You can view some of my work at www.whitecolumns.org in the artists registry under my name: Miranda Maher. My artist book distributor is www.printedmatter.org. They list their books by artist/author name as well.

I am in need of help with a project that is important to me, so I thought I would ask your advice -- really I'm asking about how to ask or if it's even worthwhile to ask for the help I need.

I am beginning a book on the atomic bombing of Nagasaki in 1945. It's an art book, not a history book. It basically involves page after page of fields of flowers, each flower with a number laid over it in Photoshop. The pages -- and numbered flowers -- will continue until the total casualties from the bombing are reached: 39,000. As the numbers get longer, more and more of the images will be obscured by the (white) numbers.

The nature of this work is a kind of quiet, contemplative tribute to the people who were lost. ...And usually overlooked because the 'emblem' of the bombings became Hiroshima (not only was it first, but the casualty count was higher). I make no political statements of any kind. Ultimately, I don't care about war strategy or whether it was justified or not. This is just one human being remembering and recognizing the loss of so many.