ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Photo Project Ideas?

Hi,

I'm a second year photography student and I am stumped on what to do for a photography project. I live in Brighton, UK which is a seaside town with a thriving gay scene and the place has an arty, bohemian edge to it.

I want to do a landscape project, and my original idea was to reverse the seaside town stereotype. However my tutor said that this had been done to death and that I would be better served working on more contemporary stereotypes such as the gay scene or the club scene.

I only want to do landscape and am totally stuck for idea, can anyone think of anything cool that I could do?

:mad2: :mad2: :mad2:

Re: Photo Project Ideas?

have a collection of shots all from the sea looking back on shore. get rides of boats off the coast and shoot everything from that perspective.
    check out my photography website
    http://dylanschneider.zenfolio.com/

Please feel free to edit or change any of my pictures to show me how to improve them.

Nikon D200
    Nikon D7000 w/grip
    Nikkor AF-S 18-135
    Nikkor AF-S 60mm macro 2.8
    Nikon 70-200 2.8 vr
    Nikon tc-17eII
    Kenoko extension tube set
    SB-600

Yea I like that Idea, although I'm not sure how I'd get access to a boat on my budget. Could def do from Piers, jettys, Marina etc though. THanks!

Panarus biarmicus Moderator (Sports) SmartWombat's Avatar

Hmm, is your tutor also marking your project ?
    Do you think your tutor's experience of what is likely to get better marks is useful ?

To see if it really has been "done to death" then I'd suggest (if you can) looking at previous students' projects to see what has been done before.