ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Operating Temperature

I was watching a football game today and seen, like every week, the cameras on the sideline and in the endzone. It got me thinking, at what temp. should you start to worry about your camera. As I'm new to this and new to digital I looked at my camera's user guide, Canon Power Shot S1 IS, and it stats 0-40 deg C (32-104 deg F). I know that they use the high end dslr so I looked them up on Canon's website and they are rated the same also with 85% humidity. I was wondering what everyone is doing in the cold months when you are out with your camera.

Re: Operating Temperature

I just checked my user manual for a film slr, the operating temp is 4- 122, also, i checked a few dslr and they all seem to be from 32-100 something. High humidity is always a problem with electircal devices.

Interesting question... I have a Canon 10D and the manual says that it works to 32 degrees. It really work below that temp. The thing to watch out for with digital cameras is condensation. Especially going from cold to warm (less so going from warm to cold.) Condensation can form on the electronics in the camera and cause an early death... I always try to slowly transition the camera when I come in from the cold and allow it to warm to room tempature before turning it back on. Also it doesn't have weather seals so I don't shoot in the rain and snow.

Pentax Forum Moderator