ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Looking for good Digital Photo Magazine

My wife's birthday is coming up, and since I got her a new camera last year, I thought getting her subscription to a good digital photography magazine this thing would be nice. Since I'm no expert, I'm looking for suggestions! What are your favorite mags and why?

I'm looking for something that doesn't spend a lot of space pushing new cameras (since we just got one), but rather gives advice, tips, tricks, and techniques that would be useful to people who have used digital cameras for years, but don't really know how to do anything too fancy or how to achieve perfect results in less-than-perfect situations.

Re: Looking for good Digital Photo Magazine

Quote Originally Posted by kompik
    I'm looking for something that doesn't spend a lot of space pushing new cameras.
    That's going to make it tough...

Honestly, I gave up most of the photo magazines. I read Nikon World and Photo Techniques and these magazines have very few ads but I don't think they're what you're after. I got sick of all of the ads too...

I think a lot of the magazines that might be of most help will be about half ads - literally. I haven't read many of them in awhile, but a better bookstore like Barnes and Noble or Borders (or if you're lucky enough to have a great local shop) will have a good assortment.