ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>
    Viewfinder and Off-Topic Co-Mod walterick's Avatar

Little cousin at Christmas

Tell me what you think of this. I was rather pleased with the outcome, but welcome other views.

This is my little cousin rolling on the floor during a photo shoot in which he was supposed to be sitting on a stool infront of the Christmas tree. Of course, this little unplanned diversion lead to the best shot on the roll. Mamiya 645 with the 80mm 2.8 lens (50mm equiv), Portra 400NC. Lighting was from a table lamp held by his aunt to the left. Scanned with my new Epson 4990. I removed a lot of yellow and red, blurred the background and his skin, and sharpened his eyes. It's my first time using the blur and sharpen features of PS Elements, as I just discovered them tonight so please let me know how they look.

Thanks!
    Rick
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Little cousin at Christmas-maili6.jpg  
    Walter Rick Long
    Nikon Samurai, Mamiya Master, Velvia Bandit

Check out the Welcome Thread

My photography on Myspace

Re: Little cousin at Christmas

I'd like to see the unworked version Rick.

Wow this doesn't look very good to me anymore. I guess late night photoshopping has its effect on the mind's perception. PS should come with a warning - "Do not use after 10pm or for more than 2 hours straight."

I have some more work to do on it I see. Just for kicks, here are the untouched original and a quickie black and white.

Thanks for looking Peter.

Rick
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Little cousin at Christmas-mailuntouched.jpg   Little cousin at Christmas-b-w.jpg  
    Walter Rick Long