ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Thread: I'm new too! :)

I'm new too! :)

I've posted a couple of times in other areas of this forum, but I thought I'd say hi here too!

Plus I have some questions, which I hope I'm posting in the right place...

Although I trick myself into thinking I'm a fabulous photographer, the truth is I know very little about it. I've owned a Nikon F55 SLR for some time, and have loved it, even though the camera itself is quite evil when it wants to be, but that's another story. Now I'm looking to buy a DSLR...

So I would LOVE to learn more about digitial photography. I'm in Canberra, Australia, and am very keen to do a course in beginner's photography - either a short course or otherwise. I'm open to ideas about online courses as well, and have tried to do a bit of research, but I have no idea about which courses are dodgy, and which are actually good.

Does anyone have any ideas? Australian courses or online courses?

Or my other option, should I just teach myself? What do you think?!

If you think teaching myself is a good option, can you suggest a great book or program which will help? There's so many photography books out there, and I know they're probably all good in their own way, but I was hoping someone could recommend their favourite for me!? Or even just a favourite and reputable author would be an excellent start!

So many questions, so little time!!

Thankyou!!

Re: I'm new too! :)

I can't help with classes or books, but I can tell you that if you spend enough time here, your photography will improve.

But a class or book would be very good to teach you about the mechanics of taking a photograph, also to force you to explore different subjects.