ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

How to take pictures

Hello everyone!

I am a complete beginner, just bought a new digital camera and a tripod. I have an inspiration, I can see things to be photographed, but I can't fugure out how to do it well and always miss the moment.
    Got myself a book, but... it is not very clear, nor it is easy to understand quickly. I need to learn more about optics, I don't want to use the Auto setting each time. The problem is - when I see something good to photograph, I spend too much time wondering how to take the picture and ... the interesting moment has gone! I want to learn all about aperture, speed and light, and I need to learn it quickly. I would like to be able to quickly determine the manual settings when I need to take a photo. Today while I was reading how to take that shot, the weather changed suddenly and I had to jump to another chapter to reed about taking pictures under a murky sky. And... missed the interesting shot I initially intended to take.

Does anyone know of a website where things are explained well and where I can read about different tricks? There must be some common rules, there must be a beginning.
    Please help me begin.

Quote Originally Posted by Transfixion
    I want to learn all about aperture, speed and light, and I need to learn it quickly.
    Welcome to the group. The above quote is a bit of a problem though, it will take a long time to master exposure - that's part of the enjoyment of it though. You can pick up the basics pretty quickly, but to truly master it (I don't claim to be there yet) will take some time. Nothing worth doing is ever easy!