ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

How much are you willing to sacrafice/spend on photography?

During the day I work as an International Treasury Manager for a large multi-national company (www.kineticsgroup.com) where we are about to go public. Great opportunity, financially for me.

But, then today, I got a call from a advertising firm and they are sending my portfolio to an art director for a lifestyle/commercial shoot in Argentina. The saw my portfolio on PDN and liked my lifestyle images. The shoot would have all expenses paid, $500/day fee if I get the job. Plus, if they choose the photos the images are licensed for $20,000, where I get 50%.

The question? How much would you be willing to sacrafice your day job to reach a photographic goal? I spend so much time doing photography and it takes away from business, cycling, etc.

I can re-phrase the question as, "how much time are you willing to dedicate to photography during a week?" How do you balance everything?

Loren
    Loren Crannell
    LC Photography
    Visit My Website

* Any photographer worth his salt has 10,000 bad negatives under his belt. - Ansel Adams

Clarification

The shoot is only three days, but with travel it would be a week away from work. I just started my job this week so I don't have any vacation time so it would dramatically affect my job. Not an easy decision since sucess in both worlds is very important to me.
    Loren Crannell
    LC Photography
    Visit My Website

* Any photographer worth his salt has 10,000 bad negatives under his belt. - Ansel Adams

Decisions, decisions. As long as the shoot is really what it's supposed to be (signed contract, you know they pay their bills, etc) then go for it!!