ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Holga!?! What's that?

I've noticed that every time a thread gets posted with Holga photos, there are many questions. I have only used a Holga a few times, so I have many questions myself. I thought it might be helpful to start a thread just for the purpose of talking about Holgas and letting people ask questions about these strange little cameras. So, if you have been scratching your head when you see the word "Holga," or if yours isn't doing what you expected, here's your chance to ask. Ask whatever you want. I'm new to Holgas myself, but I'll answer what I can.

I'll start with a couple of things I've been wondering about. Feel free to answer one of my questions, or ask another. Here goes...

1. How do you get the extreme vignetting seen in most Holga shots? I've been disappointed to find very little in mine. (See below) Is this because I have a rare specimen, or do some people actually modify the Holga to create more vignetting?

2. I have trouble scanning my Holga film. My scanner looks for edges in the negative strip in order to divide it into how ever many images are on the section of film I'm scanning. Many times my shots have undefined or overlapping edges, and the scanner errors out. I don't think the designers had Holgas in mind. Does anyone have a recommendation for tricking my scanner into dividing the film where I want it to?

Thanks,
    Paul
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Holga!?!  What's that?-holga-360-bridge.jpg  
    Last edited by photophorous; 08-28-2006 at 11:23 AM.

Viewfinder and Off-Topic Co-Mod walterick's Avatar

Re: Holga!?! What's that?

Paul,