ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Help me explain dragging the shutter... please...

I understand how to drag the shutter and how it works but I want to explain it to group of non-technically savvy friends who could benefit from using it. Everytime I try to explain it I make it sound more complicated than it is though. Can anyone help me explain it to a group of non-technical camera users? (Most are using Digi Rebels with external flash if that matters.)

Thanks for your help!

don't tase me, bro! Asylum Steve's Avatar

Maybe you could start...

Quote Originally Posted by mmedlyn
    I understand how to drag the shutter and how it works...
    ...by explaining it to me. I've been a photographer for 25 years, and I've never heard the term...
    "Riding along on a carousel...tryin' to catch up to you..."

-Steve
    Studio & Lighting - Photography As Art Forum Moderator

Running the Photo Asylum, Asylum Steve's blogged brain pipes...
    www.stevenpaulhlavac.com
    www.photoasylum.com

Re: Help me explain dragging the shutter... please...

Ok... I'll try... like I said though I make it much more complicated than it is. Dragging the shutter is using flash and existing light at the same time to create more natural looking lighting. Basically you manually set the camera to a slow shutter speed (1/30) to allow existing light to illuminate your background while using your flash to stop the motion of your subject. It also allows the background to motion blur (depending on where/what you're shooting. It's paticularly neat when lights are in the background.)