ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

Thread: filters

filters

i got a few filters today and i am very new to the photography world. so i had the guy at ritz help me he told me to buy a polarizer and a circular polarizer. he said the cir. pol. is for auto focus and the regular pol. is for manual. my question is what is the difference and if i had the cir. pol. on and switch to manual focus do i have to switch the filter too. and btw i have the a100

Re: filters

as i understand it, nope all you need is the circular polarizer. the circular polarizer will work for auto and manual, while the reg polarizer will spin with the lense as it auto focuses so you need to spin the filter around to get the best light angel comming through the lense. if that makes sense. some one might be able to explain it better than I. ( i only have a circular and don't have an auto focus camera to use it on)
    check out my photography website
    http://dylanschneider.zenfolio.com/

Please feel free to edit or change any of my pictures to show me how to improve them.

Nikon D200
    Nikon D7000 w/grip
    Nikkor AF-S 18-135
    Nikkor AF-S 60mm macro 2.8
    Nikon 70-200 2.8 vr
    Nikon tc-17eII
    Kenoko extension tube set
    SB-600

Liz

I never heard of using 2 polarizers for the same lens. NOPE! Take one back. I actually don't know which one you need for the a100 - someone else might give you that info.

Liz

Quote Originally Posted by sakbarzad