ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

PS did ya know

each post has an edit feature that let's you make corrections and helps people like me make more sense (I use it A LOT)
    "I was not trying to be shocking, or to be a pioneer.
    I wasn't trying to change society, or to be ahead of my time.
    I didn't think of myself as liberated, and I don't believe that I did anything important.
    I was just myself. I didn't know any other way to be, or any other way to live."
    Bettie Page

My Temp site...

Quote Originally Posted by Trevor Ash
    I like solving problems. That's what's fun for me. I started learning about computer programming in High School and eventually found my way into a career using it. Many non-software folks would probably never guess at how creative one can be in coming up with new solutions to familiar and sometimes new problems.

Software design, even before writing a lick of code, is a highly creative process. Much like designing a new building or office space. Granted there are rules and boundaries to follow but it can be a lot of fun.
    You're right in that programming and problem solving are very creative. Manipulating the limited vocabulary and strict syntax of a programming language to some elegant solution is a rush. The tug of war between the creative side and the logical side is especially strong in this. For a while I had to set an alarm to 'wake me up' from that world I went to while writing code so I wouldn't miss my ride home at the end of the day.

Programming has changed a lot since there are gobs of solid modules around now without the memory restraints there used to be.