ViewFinder Photography Forum

General discussion - our photography living room. Talk about aesthetics, philosophy, share your photos - get inspired by your peers! Moderated by another view and walterick.
ViewFinder Forum Guidelines >>
Introduce Yourself! >>
PhotographREVIEW.com Gatherings and Photo Field Trips >>

How did I do? New Lens purchase....

Okay I have the lense that came with the Digital Rebel, the 18-55. Very short range, of course I want a zoom.

So I bought a Canon 75-300 AF III... thought it was great.

Then I decided I didn't want such a high low end, so I was looking at a 28-200 as my medium lens, and the guy at the camera store convinced me that a Tamron XR 28-300 was going to be my best bet, since I now am selling the 75-300.

He made Tamron sound pretty nice, and that I wouldn't be disappointed. Being a newb, I of course bought the lens (it DOES look and function really nice). I can already tell if focuses a ton faster than the Canon, and now I can just use 1 lense for 90% of my shooting.

Since I already paid for it, don't totally thrash me if I made a dumb decision. I am hoping that Tamron is a good lens and that for an amateur like me who wanted a 28-200/300 range, it will be okay.

I've heard good things about the Tamron 28-200 XR, and presumably the 28-300 is OK too. It's probably a good way to start out. I'd check to see how closely you can focus with it, and take a few flash shots to make sure that it doesn't block your flash. The 18-55 is probably a good lens as well.

--Jeff

sean,

What are the Aperture settings of the lens you are considering. Is it a 28-300 f/3.5-5.6 or are the f numbers different. That is a bigger point if you want faster glass, the smaller the f/number the faster the glass usually.

For general shooting...