Photography Studio and Lighting Forum

Hosted by fabulous Florida-based professional fashion photographer, Asylum Steve, this forum is for discussing studio photography and anything related to lighting.

Portrait Photography Newbie, best light kit???

I've been a outdoor photographer for years, but now I'm wanting to get into portrait photography. I have no clue on what kind of lighting kit to get. From what I can tell, probably a 3 light kit would work well, 2 umbrellas or softboxes? and one backlight.

I like the JTL TL-480, it's right in my price range, but I know nothing of it's quality, power and how it interfaces with my Canon 20D. Will it work with a sync cord? or do I need a remote transmitter?

Any info would be helpful or any other light kits that are better. I need it to be portable too.

Thanks,
    Greg

Re: Portrait Photography Newbie, best light kit???

Quote Originally Posted by ggarman
    I've been a outdoor photographer for years, but now I'm wanting to get into portrait photography. I have no clue on what kind of lighting kit to get. From what I can tell, probably a 3 light kit would work well, 2 umbrellas or softboxes? and one backlight.

I like the JTL TL-480, it's right in my price range, but I know nothing of it's quality, power and how it interfaces with my Canon 20D. Will it work with a sync cord? or do I need a remote transmitter?

Any info would be helpful or any other light kits that are better. I need it to be portable too.

Thanks,
    Greg