Sports Photography Forum

Share your sports photos and discuss sports photography techniques and issues. This forum is moderated by SmartWombat.
Featured Photo
Photo by Tumber

by Tumber
Featured Photo Archive >>

Suggestions for a fast action camera, for MMA/boxing pictures.

Hi,
    First time here. I have been reading some of the advice/critique/suggestions. I am just getting into "sports" photography and film making. For my birthday last year, I was lucky enough to get a "Hot Pit Pass" from my brother for the Indy Car Race at California Motor Speedway in So Cal on Oct 3rd. I was in the pits the entire race and was able to get some good amateur shots, I will post a couple of pics to see what you all think.

I have a Canon Powershot A70 which for the most part does OK... BUT, my dilema... I've been a big fan of mixed martial arts fighting for a long time, go to a lot of events and know some fighters. So it's an oppurtunity to get some good fight shots right around the ring. I've tried using the A70 and I can't get good fast action shots like punches or kicks. Either to slow or to fast, that type of thing.
    I am looking for an affordable (affordable for me is $400-$500), best buy for $$$ for this type of photography. Specifically a camera that takes a couple of action pictures in 1-2 seconds. I am not sure what a camera that has this feature would cost on a low end?!?!?

I have an event this friday and would appreciate any help. I'll prolly rent a suggested camera to try it out for this friday.

Thanks,
    strychnine

Panarus biarmicus Moderator (Sports) SmartWombat's Avatar

Re: Suggestions for a fast action camera, for MMA/boxing pictures.

What I think is far more important for action photos is timing, rather than speed.
    You may be missing the shot because of the lag between pressing the button and the camera taking the photo.